Hello? Can You Hear Me?

I’m find myself frequently befuddled when people tell me God called them to move, or to quit their job and work from home. How does God call? Hopefully not collect. I don’t understand how people hear God. How do I get in His contact list? It would be so nice if God would look at my list of goals and let me know, “This is the one I have planned for you.” That’s never happened to me.

There are a few things I do know God wants me to do. He calls me to be a godly wife and mother. He calls me to be involved in His community of believers. He calls me to give happily and generously. These things are obvious, they are clearly written in the Bible. What about everything else? For me, the dichotomy I’m struggling with is His call for us not to live in debt and the burden I have on my heart to raise my children in Him. I also have so much passion I feel that God must have a plan for it! I just need direction.

How will I get direction?

Read the Bible and pray. When struggling with an issue, start with the basics and fundamentals.

Seek godly counsel. Bouncing ideas off of people seems to help me hear my own ideas, plus hearing their response let’s me know if I’m on the right track.

Wait. I will keep doing the little things and wait for God to show me which direction to go. I will keep writing, keep speaking, keep exploring ideas and wait for the breakthrough.

I feel there have been three messages ringing in my head. One, it is my responsibility to raise my children. God placed that on women. Two, it’s my husband’s responsibility to provide. And while I may or may not have been called to have a career for a duration to help our situation, the situation isn’t my burden to carry.  Three, trust God. I don’t see how everything can possibly work out if we don’t follow my plan. Yes, I am the oldest child and yes, I have a difficult time doing things any other way than my own.

Whether this is what people mean when they hear God talk, I have no idea. But I do know that God has a purpose for my life and as long as I seek Him first, regardless what path I end up on, He will be with me.

One thought on “Hello? Can You Hear Me?

  1. Thanks for sharing your heart today.

Leave a Reply

